RSS Feed

Visit to Selayang Hot Spring Part2

It has been a long week since we visited the Selayang Hot Spring last Sunday. Hana was excited about going back, and so we did, yesterday and today.

Hot spring

"Essentials"

We were better prepared this time. Got us a bigger tub and a little chair to sit on while we soaked our feet in the smaller tubs.

It was drizzling when we woke up but we decided to risk it. Glad we did. It did rain heavily, but after we had spent over an hour there.

Interestingly, the rain did not deter some people, who came prepared with umbrellas.

I thought there were only three wells, but we made an interesting discovery when we arrived yesterday. Partly hidden by some bushes was another waterhole. This, we were told was the hottest one, which explains why few people spent time there.

Hot spring

Hottest waterhole - notice the vapor

We found the source of “mud” which many people, especially the ladies, had been using on their legs and faces. The “mud” was sulfur found at the base of the waterhole.

Sulfur mudpack

Hana enjoying her facial

I’m not sure what it is supposed to do but I agreed to allow Hana to apply some on my face. It was a soothing warm feeling.

Maybe if I do it often, my face will be smooth as “a baby’s butt”. I’m not saying I know what a baby’s butt feels like. I’ve just heard it said.🙂

Health benefits aside, what I enjoy about the place is the rapport among the regulars.

It’s a mini “community” that is warm and welcoming to newbies like us, offering us advice and suggestions whenever deemed necessary. Strangers become acquaintances as quickly as it takes for us to accept a Facebook friend request.

Selayang Hot spring

Marie and hubby (right)

Marie and her husband – “aunty” and “uncle” – are an elderly couple who have been visiting the hot spring for the past 18 years.

Friendly and chatty, she’s filled with stories about the history of the hot spring.

All things aside, what we enjoy most is pampering each other. I mean Hana and me.🙂

To us, it’s a nice weekend outing, spending time together. Making new friends and improving our health is a bonus.

I love knowing more about what I am involved in and will be checking out some of the health benefits the hot spring offers. Will post it her once I’ve gathered enough info.

Till then, I’d like to take a moment to remember those who were killed on this day, 9-11, ten years ago, and honor the heroes who risked their lives saving those who survived. My prayers go out to the families who lost their loved ones on that fateful day.

Peace be with you!

Check out Part 1 of our hot spring visit.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Shelley!

    I think you have to give it a try. Many patrons at the hot spring go for skin problems and have interesting success stories to share.

    Let me know how it goes for you!

    Kenneth

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the write up Kenneth! Don’t exactly fancy going – but will go try out the water for my skin. Been having hives for the past 2 months. I.t.c.h.y!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

